Re: Game Engine

Hello,

I’m no expert on game engines or even game design, so I might not have the correct understanding of the underlying concepts here. I don’t know how well a Minecraft clone would perform under an entity-component system. I looked at your github project and you appear to have eschewed ECS, at least for the trivial implementation of your “chunk”.

My understanding is that under an ECS, you would have an actual array of instantiated entities instead of a single array of u8 integers. Each entity would have a position, texture reference, flammability, monetary value, weight, etc. packed together. So when you go to render blocks, that extra information would clog the cache and hurt performance.

Contrast with say, storing separate arrays to hold texture references, flammability, value, etc. Then only iterate over the specific array you need at the moment.

Amethyst bills itself as an ECS-centric game engine. If I am correct about the nature of entity-component systems, why Amethyst?

~Max

2 Likes

An ECS bunches up the Data in an easily processable format, unlike Objects. This makes Multithreading much easier as only the Data you need is accessed and not literally everything else. Do you need someones Coordinates to apply a Poison Effect on their Health? I do not think so, so the Coordinates are not retrieved from RAM. :wink:

What you are explaining as an “instead of ECS” is literally what an ECS is actually doing.

And I chose Amethyst because it is a still ongoing Project so people actually update it, while also being somewhat easy to use, from what I made with the Examples so far, before I ended up with a Factorio Addiction interrupting my coding process for a couple weeks. XD