How is item storage supposed to work?

I’ve been playing GT6 on and off for a few years and there is something my friends and I always been confused about. How is storage of all the hundreds of different items types intended to be handled? Me and my friends always end up making rooms filled with chests with each one being for like “nuggets” or “tiny dusts”. The late game usually ends up with us spending like 25% of our time organizing or finding items. I would appreciate if anyone could point us in the right direction of a better way to do this if there is one.

2 Likes

Item Barrel or Mass Storage for the Dusts and Ingots. The Storage Inserter is something you can Rightclick to insert whatever you have in your Inventory into a Wall of Item Barrels and/or Mass Storages as if you were walking in front of that wall and rightclick inserting everything.

Item Barrels and Mass Storages will manage Dusts and Nuggets just fine, though partial amounts are invisible to the Outside.

If you have Tape you can also move the Storages around, though the more they contain the more Tape durability you need.

2 Likes

So if my understanding is correct, in practice you would have a wall of maybe 100 mass storages with one for each type of item? Is there something like a terminal for withdrawing specific items across the whole system or searching for something you know is in there somewhere? Or do people just run up to each mass storage one at a time?

2 Likes

There is no Terminal for that, typically people either make a Periodic Table, or they just put the useful Stuff closeby and the useless junk far away. You would be surprised how all Items you usually need fit into a small space. It is as if it was an “ingame GUI” to grab things from without actually opening a GUI.

3 Likes